Maine Announces 2013 Hall of Fame Class


Maine Announces 2013 Hall of Fame Class

ORONO, Maine – The University of Maine announced today that it has selected six former student-athletes for induction into the 2013 University of Maine Sports Hall of Fame. Former men’s basketball standout Francois Bouchard (1994), hockey star Jack Capuano (1989), track and field record holder Gerard LaFlamme, swimming standout Susan Herrick Lizzotte (1999), football player Carleton “Speed” Merritt (1924) and baseball All-American Chad White (1993) are the newest selections.


Bouchard was a four-year letterwinner on the men’s basketball team. He was one of two players in Maine history to earn Rookie of the Year honors in 1990-91 and also earned a spot on the All-Rookie Team. Bouchard was a North Atlantic Conference Second Team selection in 1993-94 and also earned a spot on the All-Tournament team that same season. After finishing second on the team in scoring in 1990-91, he went on to lead the team in points the next three seasons. He ranks fifth on Maine’s all-time scoring list with 1,541 career points. He led the team in rebounding in each of his four season and ranks fifth on Maine’s all-time rebounding list with 792. Following graduation, Bouchard played professionally in France. 


Capuano was captain of the 1987-88 men’s ice hockey team. He scored 32 goals and added 89 assists for 121 points in 124 career games as a defenseman. His 121 career points rank third all-time among Maine defensemen. In 1987-88, he was named a first team All-American. He was a First Team Hockey East selection in 1987-88 and also earned a spot on the All-New England team and the Hockey East All-Tournament Team. He holds Maine records for career goals by a defenseman (32) and single season goals by a defenseman (13). He played three years in the National Hockey League for Toronto, Vancouver and Boston. He is currently the head coach of the New York Islanders of the National Hockey League. 


LaFlamme was a multi-time captain and record-setter in track and field and cross country during the mid 1970’s. For indoor track and field,  LaFlamme was the individual Maine State Champion in the mile and the two mile during the 1973-74 season. In 1974-75, LaFlamme was the Maine State Champion in the mile, setting a meet record. He was also a member of the two mile relay team that won the Maine State Championship. LaFlamme was the Maine State Champion in the mile and three mile runs for both the 1974 and 1976 seasons. In 1976, he won the Alan Hillman Memorial Trophy, awarded annually to the most outstanding track athlete in the state at the MIAA meet. He held the University of Maine record in the mile until 2010 and still holds the University of Maine record in the two mile. A two year cross country captain, he was the Maine State Champion in 1973 and 1974. He finished in the top-10 in the Yankee Conference in both 1974 and 1975 and placed 11th in the IC4A Championships in 1974. Since graduating from the University of Maine, he has been a generous supporter of Maine athletics. 


Herrick Lizzotte was a two-year captain of the women’s swimming team. She was the America East champion in 1995-96 in the 200 butterfly, the 200 individual medley and the 400 individual medley, setting a meet record with a time of 4:31:97. In 1996-97, she was the America East champion in the 200 butterfly. She was named Most Valuable Swimmer at Maine from 1996-1999. She previously held Maine records in the 200 butterfly and the 400 individual medley. She is currently the head men’s and women’s swimming coach at the University of Maine, after serving as an assistant coach from 2000-2010. 


Merritt was an All-Maine quarterback and regarded as one of the “All-Time State Series Greatest Players.” In the 1932 Spaulding College Football record book, he is listed as having the longest pass and run play at 68 yards. He was UMaine’s first professional  football player in 1924. He was a three-sport coach at Cranston High School in Rhode Island. Merritt won 10 State Championships as a high school coach. He was a top New England collegiate basketball official from the 1940’s through the 1950’s. He also officiated major college football games. Merritt was a past president of the “M-Club” and received the Black Bear Award from the Alumni Association. He is a UMaine Black Bear Hall of Fame - lifetime member and a member of the Providence, R.I. Gridiron Hall of Fame. He founded the Marion Farrington Merritt Fund that provides scholarships for UMaine student-athletes. 


White was captain of Maine’s 1993 baseball team and went on to earn North Atlantic Conference Player of the Year honors in that season. He was named a Second Team All-American, named to the NAC All-Conference Team and also named to the NAC All-Tournament Team in 1993. He was a 1992 NAC Second Team selection and earned a spot on the 1991 NCAA All-Regional Team. During the 1992 season, he led Maine in home runs and RBI. White was drafted by the Houston Astros in 1993. 


The six will be inducted on Friday, September 13, 2013. There will be a reception in the Hall of Fame lobby in the Memorial Gym beginning at 6 PM. Dinner will follow at Wells Conference Center at 7 PM followed by the induction. The honorees will be recognized at halftime of the Maine football game against Bryant the following day. 


















Official Store

Fan Central