2014 Season Celebrated At Annual Friends of Maine Hockey Banquet

2014 Season Celebrated At Annual Friends of Maine Hockey Banquet

2014 Season Celebrated At Annual Friends of Maine Hockey Banquet

BREWER, Maine -- The University of Maine men's ice hockey team celebrated the 2014 season at the annual Friends of Maine Hockey awards banquet on Friday night at Jeff's Catering in Brewer.  The seniors were honored, along with the annual awards being presented.


The Friends of Maine Hockey Volunteer of the Year Award, presented by head coach Red Gendron, went to Doug Damon. Academic counselor Crissy Kerluke presented the Dale Lick Academic Achievement Award to sophomore Kyle Williams (Bowdoinham, Maine). The Naked 5 won the Madeline Bacon Spirit Award, presented by Doug Damon.  

Assistant athletic director for public relations Laura Reed presented the Coca Cola Three Star Award to senior goalie Martin Ouellette (St.-Hippolyte, Quebec). Ouellette finished 15-15-4 on the season with a 2.29 goals against average. His .925 save percentage was second best in Maine hockey history, second only to Jimmy Howard. 


Hockey equipment manager Kevin Ritz presented Stein Award. The award, given to the player who brings the team to the proper emotional level for each game, went to captain Brice O'Connor (Londonderry, New Hampshire). O'Connor was honored throughout the night as one of the best captains most of the players had ever played with. 


The Richard Britt Award, presented to the player who persevered through difficult challenges, was presented to Connor Leen (Chester, New York) by Ann and Andy Britt and assistant coach Ben Guite. 


Associate coach Jay Leach presented the Howard Neville Rookie of the Year Award to Cam Brown (Natick, Massachusetts). Brown played in all 35 games and finished with four goals and 15 assists for 19 points. He was the leading scorer among rookies. Leach also presented the Jack Semler Most Improved Player Award to Brady Campbell (Blenheim, Ontario). Campbell played in 21 games his rookie season, including the last 14 games of the season. 


Lynne and son Sean Walsh awarded the Shawn Walsh Defensive Player Award to sophomore blueliner Conor Riley (Massena, N.Y.). Riley played in all 35 games for the Black Bears and tied for the team-lead with a +/- ranking of +13. 


Director of hockey operations and athletic trainer Paul Culina handed out the Harold Alfond Most Valuable Player Award to Devin Shore (Ajax, Ontario). Shore led the team in scoring with 14 goals and 29 assists for 43 points. He was a Second Team All-American and named to the Hockey East First Team. 


Following the awards, the five seniors had their road jerseys auctioned off. 

Official Store

Fan Central