Kelton Cullenberg Tabbed America East Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Kelton Cullenberg Tabbed America East Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Kelton Cullenberg Tabbed America East Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year

ORONO, Maine -- University of Maine cross country and track and field student-athlete Kelton Cullenberg (Chesterville, Maine) has been named the 2013-14 America East Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year, as announced by the league on Thursday, July 24.

Cullenberg, who was also named the conference's Man of the Year earlier this year, excelled as a student-athlete, embodying the conference's three pillars of the complete student-athlete. Cullenberg was chosen from a group of 19 student-athletes who were tabbed Scholar-Athletes in their respective sports by a committee of athletic administrators and NCAA Faculty Athletics Representatives. The committee each year elects a Scholar-Athlete in each of the league's 19 championship sports following the fall, winter and spring seasons. Cullenberg was the outdoor track & field Scholar-Athlete.

A Maine graduate, Cullenberg registered a 3.92 GPA as a kinesiology/exercise science major and business administration minor. Named to Dean's List and also named a Presidential Scholar for having a perfect 4.0 semester GPA six times, Cullenberg was a seven-time America East All-Academic selection.
On the track, Cullenberg earned All-America East honors three times this year, placing second individually in the cross country championship and the indoor 5,000-meter run and won the outdoor 5,000 meters. He competed in the NCAA Cross Country Championship, becoming the first Black Bear in 24 years to do so.

Cullenberg joins former Black Bear baseball student-athlete Aaron Izaryk (2004-05) as the only two University of Maine scholar-athletes to win Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors.

Stony Brook's Olivia Burne earned the America East Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor.

Other 2013-14 Scholar-Athletes included: Lisa Bijman (Maine), women's soccer; Anthony Santaga (Hartford), men's soccer; Daphne Voormolen (Albany), field hockey; Viktoriia Stroilo (Albany), volleyball; Eric Schuler (UMBC), men's cross country; Luke Apfeld (Vermont); co-men's basketball; Peter Hooley (Albany), co-men's basketball; Liz Wood (Maine), women's basketball; Lauren McCandless (New Hampshire), women's swimming & diving; John DeLallo (Albany), men's indoor track & field; Tate Klidonas (Hartford), men's lacrosse; Vanessa VanderZalm (Vermont), women's lacrosse; Jake Thomas (Binghamton), baseball; Allison Cukrov (Stony Brook), softball; Cassandra Dix (Stony Brook), women's tennis; Robin Lesage (Binghamton), men's tennis; Kathryn Fanning (Albany), co-women's outdoor track & field.


Official Store

Fan Central